Junior Women 17-18 National Cyclocross Championship

Where do I start…

It was an AMAZING trip! I had so much fun, gained a lot of experience, and came back with some hardware. My dad and I left Wednesday morning and got there at around 11 pm (by the way, this all took place in Bend, Oregon). I think I got about 6 hours of sleep that night because I had to pick up my packet and do my seeding time trial. I ended up winning it! But…. It was REALLY, REALLY cold! I mean, I’m from southern California. That explains everything… haha. We ate dinner with our hosts, the Dunahays. AMAZING PEOPLE! I raced at 8:45 am on Friday. Thankfully, it wasn’t cold enough the night before to ice over, so it was muddy. :D I’m not a big fan of the slippery ice. The race started; I took the whole shot and never looked back. I was so happy when I was finished and the full weight of the win came upon me. :) I’ve been waiting for 2 years to get another national championship. I don’t know if you have ever won one before, but after a while it becomes a craving, like chocolate. I didn’t cry, but just smiled A LOT. I noticed something though, when I was walking around after the podium with the  medal around my neck and the jersey on my shoulders; people like champions. They notice the person who is accomplished; the person who is on the top. They want to talk to you and hang out with you, or just be around you to make other people jealous. Usually when my team manager walks me around to all the sponsors and introduces me, they don’t really care who I am or what I’ve done. But when I had that jersey on and that medal on, they actually wanted to engage in conversation with me. Its a good feeling when people want to talk to you and be around you. :) Anyways, it was fantastic and I’m sad that it is over. Oh, stayed and watched the elite mens race. INTENSE! Thats all I have to say and that maybe I was rooting for TREEFARM (a.k.a. Ryan Trebon). Good times were had by all.

P.S. Bob’s Red Mill Oatmeal is the best!!!!!!!!

Kind comments are the best comments.

