First three days in Belgium:

I left LAX on Tuesday the 21st at 7:53am and arrived into BRU on Wednesday at 6:50am. I didn’t get a wink of sleep the entire time and stayed awake for the rest  of the day. Needless to say, I was exhausted! That first day Jacquelyn Crowell, Samantha Schneider, and I were driven from the airport to Izegem, Belgium (1.5 hours outside of Brussels) where the USA Cycling national team house is located. Our bikes were assembled and we bundled up for an easy spin along the Roeselare-Leie canal. We got back and walked around Izegem for an hour trying to find a coffee shop. We passed right by it 3 times, but in our defense it looked like a bar! A lady named Nicole comes to cook us dinner every night, which is pretty awesome! I went to bed at 9:30pm that night.

Yesterday I didn’t wake up until 11am; that’s 13.5 hours of sleep! We left for our ride at 12pm, stopped to get a coffee 1k in, and then proceeded to be semi-lost for the next 2.5 hours, including a flat, before making it back to the house. The afternoon and evening were pretty mellow. Amanda Miller, Megan Guarnier, and Robin Farina arrived around 10pm; we all hit the hay around 11:30pm. I woke up at 3:30am (4 hours of sleep) and messed around on the computer for the next 4 hours because I couldn’t fall asleep.

I got off my bum and ate breakfast around 8:30am. Amanda, Megan, Robin, and I decided to ride some of the cobbled climbs on the Flanders course! It took about an hour of riding to get to some ACTUAL hills. It was pretty exciting! The first cobbled climb was Oude Kwaremont, which was 1.6 miles, with an average of 3.6%. The second cobbled climb was Paterberg, which was 0.2 miles, with an average of 12.6% and a maximum of 20.3%!!! All I can say is cobbles are freaking SWEET!!! I secretly feel like a BA when I get to the top ;) After we got back, Amanda, Robin, and I walked to the grocery store. I got some REAL Speculoos, chocolate-coated Belgian waffles (those are treats for after the races!), and some fruit and veges. We had a team meeting after dinner to decide tomorrow’s route and it looks like we’ll be driving out to ride Samyn Les Dames, Wednesday’s road course.

That’s it for now! I’m off to bed; hopefully I’ll get a good night’s sleep.

Check back in a couple days for another update!

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “First three days in Belgium:

  1. Alexis, I’m glad to hear you are enjoying the rides and daily adventures. Enjoy, stay safe, be well. oxoxoxo love, Momma PS. I am so proud of you <3

Kind comments are the best comments.

